Skip to main content
  • Mission: To advance the quality of care of neurosurgical patients by promoting excellence in education and research.

    Vision: The Society of Neurological Surgeons is an efficient, effective and respected national organization whose members are the academic leaders of neurological surgery. The Society is dedicated to enhancing the practice of neurological surgery by promoting excellence in education research and patient care.

    The Society of Neurological Surgeons is the American society of leaders in neurosurgical residency education, and is the oldest neurosurgical society in the world. Academic department chairs, residency program directors, and other key individuals comprise the active membership of the Society. The membership is limited to 220 active members, while senior and honorary members fill out the remainder of the Society.

    In accordance with Article II of the Constitution and Bylaws of the Society, the purpose of the Society in carrying on the traditions of the founding members will be:

    1. The continuing development of the field of neurological surgery including graduate and post-graduate education.
    2. To bestow recognition upon persons of outstanding ability and excellence in their work and teaching. Such recognition may be bestowed by appointment to membership or by appearance on the program at appropriate times.
    3. To enhance the role and stature of neurosurgical units in academic medical centers.
    4. To insure that patients with nervous system disease receive the highest quality of care.
    5. To encourage and support research in neurosciences.

    One of the primary missions of the Society of Neurological Surgeons (SNS) is to coordinate with other key organizations in neurological surgery that are involved in resident education and governance. The SNS serves as the convening body for these ‘One Neurosurgery Summit’ organizations, including the American Board of Neurological Surgery (ABNS), the Residency Review Committee (RRC) for Neurological Surgery, the American Academy of Neurological Surgery, the American Association of Neurological Surgeons (AANS), and the Congress of Neurological Surgeons (CNS), as well as the AANS-CNS Washington Committee. As the program directors’ society for neurological surgery, the SNS plays a pivotal role in determining the content and format of residency and fellowship education with regards to curriculum requirements and program design. The SNS also sponsors the Association of Residency Administrators in Neurological Surgery (ARANS). 

    The Society also helps set the agenda for undergraduate education preparatory to neurosurgical residency, and for both basic science and clinical neurosurgical research. The Society awards the Winn Prize annually to honor a neurosurgical clinician-scientist of international stature who has demonstrated a commitment to, and substantial accomplishment in, neurosurgical research, the Grossman Award to a non-neurosurgeon who has exemplified creativity and high achievement in neuroscience and allied fields, and a Medical Student Teaching Award founded by Dr. David Kline.