Skip to main content
  • Name: Michael T. Lawton, MD, FAANS
    Address: 350 W. Thomas Road, Phoenix, AZ 85013
    Country: United States of America
    Telephone: (602) 406-6037
    Membership Status: Active

    Michael T. Lawton MD is the chairman of the Department of Neurological Surgery at the Barrow Neurological Institute, as well as its President and Chief Executive Officer and the Robert F. Spetzler Endowed Chair in Neurosciences. He is chief of vascular and skull base neurosurgery, specializing in the surgical treatment of aneurysms, arteriovenous malformations, arteriovenous fistulas, cavernous malformations, and cerebral revascularization, including carotid endarterectomy. As the leader of the largest cerebrovascular center in the country, he has experience in surgically treating over 4700 brain aneurysms and over 900 AVMs. He also practices skull base tumor surgery and the endovascular treatment of aneurysms. Dr. Lawton co-directs and conducts his research at the Barrow Aneurysm and AVM Research Center (BAARC), a collaborative research group funded by grants from the National Institutes of Health that investigates the physiology of cerebral circulation and the pathophysiology of vascular malformations. His basic science investigations study the formation, underlying genetics, and rupture of brain AVMs, as well as the hemodynamics, rupture, and computational modeling of brain aneurysms. His clinical investigations study the anatomy of microsurgical approaches to vascular lesions and the outcomes of aneurysm, AVM, and bypass surgery. He is the principle investigator of a NIH U54 grant and program director of the Brain Vascular Malformation Consortium (BVMC), a multicenter group studying malformations associated with Hereditary Hemorrhagic Telangiectasia, cavernous malformations, and Sturge Weber Syndrome.

    He has published over 600 peer-reviewed articles, over 70 book chapters, and 6 textbooks, including Seven AVMs: Tenets and Techniques for Resection, Seven Bypasses: Tenets and Techniques for Revascularization, and Seven Aneurysms: Tenets and Techniques for Clipping, which has won numerous awards and sold more copies than Yasargil’s Microneurosurgery. His awards include the Young Neurosurgeon Award from the World Federation of Neurological Societies, the Harold Rosegay Teaching Award, the Diane Ralston Clinical and Basic Science Teaching Award, and an Impact Award as Exceptional Innovator from the Greater Phoenix Chamber (2019). He has given over 800 invited lectures nationally and internationally, including visiting professorships at over 50 neurosurgical institutions. He has been active in resident teaching, directing the CNS Anatomy Course for Senior Residents, co-directing the AANS Vascular Skills Course, and directing industry-sponsored anatomy courses. He sponsors an observership in vascular neurosurgery that has hosted more the 100 neurosurgeons and residents nationally and internationally. He co-founded Mission:BRAIN, a teaching mission to raise the level of neurosurgery practiced in developing countries, and has conducted 8 missions in Mexico, the Philippines, and Peru.